Red Ribbons

Red Ribbons It s what we don t know that really scares us or so twelve year old Claribel finds out when she enters Waywardly Hall a house full of impossible things and odd little orphans Even with all its creepi

  • Title: Red Ribbons
  • Author: Vanessa K. Eccles
  • ISBN: 9780986134
  • Page: 452
  • Format: ebook
  • It s what we don t know that really scares us, or so twelve year old Claribel finds out when she enters Waywardly Hall a house full of impossible things and odd little orphans Even with all its creepiness, it s what Claribel did to get there that really haunts her All she can think about is the tap, tap, tapping of her foster parents locked in their closet.When she learnIt s what we don t know that really scares us, or so twelve year old Claribel finds out when she enters Waywardly Hall a house full of impossible things and odd little orphans Even with all its creepiness, it s what Claribel did to get there that really haunts her All she can think about is the tap, tap, tapping of her foster parents locked in their closet.When she learns the truth behind the lies, she turns her attention to the ghostly children in the forbidden rooms, the ones with RED RIBBONS tied to their doorknobs The house is deteriorating and starting to flood Something must be done before it all collapses under the weight of the spell and the sister s endless tears With the help of a godmother, a miniature dragon, and a few friends, a plan is concocted to destroy the curse and its hold on Waywardly Hall Claribel must save the others even if it means losing herself.

    One thought on “Red Ribbons”

    1. Growing up, I always loved reading time. I can still remember vividly hearing my teachers read to us in school. That was the best! I could sit back and listen to the words and picture all the images in my head. I was fortunate enough to have teachers who chose great books that jumped off the pages and into my minds eyeRED RIBBONS could easily have been one of those books! I found myself right back in that time within the pages of this book. to my childhood that was full of wonder and magic. A ti [...]

    2. A charming, mysterious story and an enjoyable read filled with magic and mischief. Vanessa Eccles managed to spin a delightful tale that kept me guessing up until the end.

    3. Red Ribbons Review​A middle grade book that transcends the ages to satisfy an adult’s love of magic and fairy tales? I thought that ended when Harry Potter grew up, then I read Red Ribbons by Vanessa Eccles. Narnia meets The Secret Garden… Join the lovable heroine, Claribel, an orphan on her journey to find a home and meet some of the most lovable book characters around. A science-minded genius of a boy, a smart alec dragon, a sassy fairy godmother and of course, an evil witch make up part [...]

    4. I loved everything about this middle grade novel! Red Ribbons is a dark, magical and whimsical story of Claribel, who is just like any other orphaned girl until a mysterious woman whisks her away to Waywardly Hall. A home of orphans, two strange caregivers, fairy godmothers/godfathers and a dragon that Claribel somehow pulled out of her dream. I found myself laughing at the child like banter between the characters. This story sucked me in and took me to a place where I felt like a child again. F [...]

    5. Enjoyed this from the moment I picked it up! It has been quite some time since I have read a book so quickly and enjoyed it so thoroughly!

    6. RED RIBBONS combines the dark whimsy of Neil Gaiman’s CORALINE with the quaint, high brow voice of Lemony Snicket’s A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS. The dialogue is cute and to the point, full of the type of banter my kids might say. The setting is absolutely magical and will resonate with readers who love little touches like fairy godmothers made out of small keys! My favorite parts of the book, though, revolve around cute little Zeke with his stutter, the “Impossible thing #_” asides, a [...]

    7. Having grown up in foster care, Claribel wishes for a forever home. When she's invited to live at Waywardly Hall, she thinks it might just be her chance to fit in, for good. But a series of creepy events happen there, where she discovers the truth about curses and a witch and lost souls. I don't tend to read creepy stories, but this one got my attention and kept it! It's not over-the-top creepy, but just enough to make you go "eeks!" at times. Claribel is a brave girl and a great main character, [...]

    8. Red Ribbons is a fresh new novel that takes the reader through a surreal journey of constantly shifting reality and the forbidden secrets that the ribbons guard. If you are into young adult fantasy, I highly recommend checking out this book.

    9. Very good book from start to finish! I really enjoyed it, it's a page turner and I fully recommend it!👍

    10. Perfect for fans of The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, Vanessa Eccles' RED RIBBONS is a satisfying read that prides itself in mystery, magic, and an engaging cast of characters. I read it like a bedtime story, curling up with tea at the darkest hours and immersing myself in the spooky goings-on of Waywardly Hall. Equal parts cozy and chilling, RED RIBBONS is a fascinating story from start to finish, and I loved every minute of my time spent with Claribel and her world.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *