The Night Bazaar: Eleven Haunting Tales of Forbidden Wishes and Dangerous Desires

The Night Bazaar Eleven Haunting Tales of Forbidden Wishes and Dangerous Desires Appealing to those who like their fantasy served with a side of psychological horror this anthology is sure to entertain Publisher s WeeklyAre You One of The Invited Various mentions of a Night Bazaa

  • Title: The Night Bazaar: Eleven Haunting Tales of Forbidden Wishes and Dangerous Desires
  • Author: Lenore Hart
  • ISBN: 9781937997786
  • Page: 419
  • Format: Paperback
  • Appealing to those who like their fantasy served with a side of psychological horror, this anthology is sure to entertain Publisher s WeeklyAre You One of The Invited Various mentions of a Night Bazaar appear throughout history in obscure and controversial texts from around the world A forbidden market which opens at midnight, closes before sunrise, and appears for o Appealing to those who like their fantasy served with a side of psychological horror, this anthology is sure to entertain Publisher s WeeklyAre You One of The Invited Various mentions of a Night Bazaar appear throughout history in obscure and controversial texts from around the world A forbidden market which opens at midnight, closes before sunrise, and appears for one week but never in the same venue each night, and never again in the same city There s just one catch To find it, you must be Invited.Tonight the Bazaar opens in a parking garage somewhere in Manhattan A huge subterranean market fair of antique costumes, alchemical treatments, magical dentistry, palmistry, Tarot and tea leaf reading, and water , glass , and crystal gazing, oddities and objets d art, medical curiosities and strange instruments, erotic favors, time travel, and body alterations The narrow aisles throng with jongleurs, freaks, charlatans, mountebanks, faeries, prostitutes, and acrobats The scents of opium, perfume, tobacco, greasepaint, incense, plastic explosive, alcohol, and sex permeate the air But each object or service comes with a gift, a curse, or a haunting.The Bazaar sells that which cannot be had elsewhere Everything you ve read about but thought had passed away, or never existed at all How wrong you were Ah It seems you have already spotted something you desire But don t head off that way, not just yet You have all night.but not a moment

    One thought on “The Night Bazaar: Eleven Haunting Tales of Forbidden Wishes and Dangerous Desires”

    1. This is one of those rare times when I couldn’t put the book down and at the same time wanted to savor it like the best ice cream sundae I’ve ever had. My solution fell somewhere in between, actually reading some of these tantalizing tales twice. As a writer who is currently working on short stories and always endeavoring to improve my craft, The Night Bazaar is just what the literary doctor ordered. As a reader this collection of works is fun to be sure. But it’s more than that. It’s po [...]

    2. What an intriguing premise for an anthology--a Night Bazaar! Like setting jewels into a crown. One of the things I loved about this collection was watching each contributing author's imagination take hold of this provocative and fresh theme introduced and interwoven throughout by editor Lenore Hart. I love books that teach me something as well as entertain, and I learned such a great deal from many of the stories--Dania Ramos' piece taught me so much about the Puerto Rican culture while still sp [...]

    3. Prepare yourself for a wild, terrifying and unusual journey For some reason I began to read with a preconceived notion of what was inside this book, but this collection was truly a death-drop roller coaster into realms beyond. Never before have I experienced such a wave of emotions with one book. More than once the writing brought on a telltale feeling of dread. Almost as if I and the storyteller were traveling together in a lucid dream or nightmare together.One story reminded me initially of Sn [...]

    4. This is an exceptional book of connected short stories. Think: The Twilight Zone meets Black Mirror. I couldn't put it down. Literally. I was almost late for work one more because I HAD to read another page.

    5. A must-read collection for fans of The Twilight Zone or Neil Gaiman, The Night Bazaar connects its eleven tales of horror and dark fantasy with a fun framing device: The catalyst of each story is an enchanted item sold at the titular traveling marketplace, a magical realm that can’t be found without an invitation and which is never in the same place twice. Buyers browsing The Night Bazaar’s wares can find such goods and services as subway passes that let you get off at the next stop as a who [...]

    6. If you were one of the Invited, one of the relative few among mortals given a chance to experience a brush with the otherworldly in the mysterious Night Bazaar, would you go? Would you even know if you’d been given the choice?This book is an achievement for editor Hart — eleven stories, each independent of the others, woven together such that none feel out of place (though a couple stories, namely “The Least Detailed Plans of a Great and Complicated Apparatus” and “Denkraam”, never s [...]

    7. A sumptuous romp into the occult, paranormal, forbidden desires, and human depravity, Hart's collection is a feast for those who find their own world a little too mundane. In the underbelly of Manhattan, there is a place where only those with the (mis)fortune of being Invited can explore a place of endless possibility. Now we have been given a chance to enter and witness it for ourselves.The stories themselves touch on many of our greatest fears and anxieties: fear of choice and commitment, fami [...]

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *