City of Buried Ghosts

City of Buried Ghosts Be careful what you dig up Still recovering from the tragedy that hit her team Elisenda takes on a new case Except it s not new On an archaeological dig by the coast a body is uncovered seemingly ex

  • Title: City of Buried Ghosts
  • Author: Chris Lloyd
  • ISBN: 9781910859841
  • Page: 152
  • Format: ebook
  • Be careful what you dig up Still recovering from the tragedy that hit her team, Elisenda takes on a new case Except it s not new On an archaeological dig by the coast a body is uncovered, seemingly executed with a spike thrust through the base of the skull an ancient tribal ritual It soon becomes clear that this body is neither ancient nor modern, but a mysterious cBe careful what you dig up Still recovering from the tragedy that hit her team, Elisenda takes on a new case Except it s not new On an archaeological dig by the coast a body is uncovered, seemingly executed with a spike thrust through the base of the skull an ancient tribal ritual It soon becomes clear that this body is neither ancient nor modern, but a mysterious corpse from the 1980s.Assigned to the case along with her team, Elisenda soon uncovers a complex world of star archaeologists, jealousy and missing persons They find a dark trade in illicit antiquities, riddled with vicious professional rivalries And even though she s staying close to the crime scene, Elisenda is also never far from enemies of her own within the police force.Just as the case seems to become clear it is blown wide open by another horrific murder Elisenda must fight her personal demons and office politics, whilst continuing to uncover plots and hatreds that were long buried How far will she go to solve the crime Is her place in the force secure And can she rebuild her life The atmospheric second crime thriller featuring Catalan detective Elisenda Dom nech, for readers of Val McDermid and Ann Cleeves

    One thought on “City of Buried Ghosts”

    1. I am partial to mysteries and also to stories that incorporate archaeology meaningfully into their development. City of Buried Ghosts met this combined wish and introduced me to a new, foreign setting. This time it is Spain, more specifically Catalonia and the area of Girona. This is the second book of the series (I have not read the first) and the Serious Crime Unit led by Elisenda Domenech are still working to recover from the events suffered in that first book and believe that uniting for a s [...]

    2. After reading the rather wonderful City of Good Death and feeling a little bit envious of Elisenda Domenech for living in such a gorgeous part of the world, I moved onto City of Buried Ghosts.We return us to the Serious Crime Unit in Catalan, Spain. Elisenda works with her small team to tackle some of the more gory crimes taking place in the region. Events in the last book have left the team at rock bottom, seriously demotivated and shaken up. Elisenda is given a historical case to work on, by h [...]

    3. I would like to thank Netgalley and Canelo for an advance copy of City Of Buried Ghosts, Mr Lloyd's second outing for his Girona based detective, Sotsinspectora Elisenda Domenech and her team, the experimental Serious Crime Unit.Four months on the team are still suffering from the events of City Of Good Death. They believe that a murder investigation will help heal their wounds so are disappointed to be sent to examine some bones found at an archaeological dig and angry when told to investigate [...]

    4. La Catalogna non è la Spagna, sembrano spesso e volentieri riaffermare i protagonisti di questa intricata storia che affonda le sue radici nel passato. E' vero, ognuno conosce la storia, quella con la S maiuscola, che gli hanno raccontato, e molto spesso i ritrovamenti archeologici che invece raccontano qualcosa di diverso vengono taciuti, o addirittura distrutti. Ma non è questa la chiave che porterà alla soluzione del mistero, e non lo è nemmeno l'evidente avidità di alcuni dei protagonis [...]

    5. Die Auflösung des Falles hat mich nicht überzeugt: der Mörder hätte sich nur ruhig verhalten müssen, dann wäre der Fall höchst wahrscheinlich nie aufgeklärt worden. Eine überzeugende Erklärung für sein unlogisches Verhalten wird nicht geliefert. Ich hatte den Eindruck, es kam dem Autor mehr darauf an, den Leser in die Irre zu führen als eine konsistente, psychologisch glaubwürdige Geschichte zu erzählen. Schade, denn die Ausgangssituation war interessant und vielversprechend. Nervi [...]

    6. City of Buried Ghosts is a deliciously smooth read. Sotinspectora Elisenda Domenech, and her team in the Serious Crime Unit, must identify the remains of a body found at an ancient archeological dig at El Crit (The Scream) near Girona, Spain. With a mattock driven through its skull, and a Sony Walkman by its side, the team dates the murder to thirty years past. The book’s main protagonist, Domenech, is smart, savvy, and downright bold. The other members of her squad are well-defined in their o [...]

    7. When a corpse is found on an excavation site being unearthed by archaeologists, Elisenda must determine when and how the person died. Upon determining that this body proves to be from the 1980's, she must figure out how a new series of murders and attacks are connected to this lost soul. City of Buried Ghosts proves to be a well crafted tale of mystery woven through a crew of archaeologists eager for money, fame, or both. The twists in this story will keep you reading.

    8. A good read with a very different plot. Good attention to archaeological detail and great characters. Thank you Net Galley for my copy.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *