Now a Major Motion Picture

Now a Major Motion Picture Fandom and first love collide for Iris on the film set for her grandmother s famous high fantasy triology perfect for readers of Fangirl Unlike the rest of the world Iris doesn t care about the famou

  • Title: Now a Major Motion Picture
  • Author: Cori McCarthy
  • ISBN: null
  • Page: 395
  • Format: ebook
  • Fandom and first love collide for Iris on the film set for her grandmother s famous high fantasy triology perfect for readers of Fangirl Unlike the rest of the world, Iris doesn t care about the famous high fantasy Elementia books written by M E Thorne So it s just a little annoying that M E Thorne is her grandmother and that Iris has to deal with the trilogy s crazyFandom and first love collide for Iris on the film set for her grandmother s famous high fantasy triology perfect for readers of Fangirl Unlike the rest of the world, Iris doesn t care about the famous high fantasy Elementia books written by M E Thorne So it s just a little annoying that M E Thorne is her grandmother and that Iris has to deal with the trilogy s crazy fans.When Iris gets dropped in Ireland for the movie adaptation, she sees her opportunity if she can shut down production, the Elementia craze won t grow any bigger, and she can finally have a normal life Not even the rascally cute actor Eamon O Brien can get in her way.But the crew s passion is contagious, and as Iris begins to find herself in the very world she has avoided her whole life, she realizes that this movie might just be amazing

    One thought on “Now a Major Motion Picture”

    1. Thank you, Sourcebooks Fire, for giving me an e-galley of this book in exchange for an honest review.I'd read her story and began drowning in a loss I'd never known was mine. My grandmother was a brilliant author—and I'd never read her books.Now a Major Motion Picture is marketed as something that fans of Rainbow Rowell's Fangirl will enjoy. It's been a few years since I read the latter book, but I can say that the blurb is true to an extent. NAMMP, like Fangirl, features excerpts from a compl [...]

    2. “Everyone else got to read Elementia and discover something about the world or themselves. Not me. I’d read her story and began drowning in a loss I’d never known was mine.”Now A Major Motion Picture was a really fun reading experience about fandom, family, and finding yourself. We follow Iris Thorne as she and her little brother Ryder go to Ireland to see the filming of the grandmother’s beloved fantasy series, Elementia. Iris is no fantasy fan and there’s no live list for the rabid [...]

    3. Now a Major Motion Picture is perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl. Both novels have an inner fantasy novel the stories are centered around. And after finishing Now a Major Motion Picture, I can saw that I hope Elementia is published like Rainbow Rowell did with Carry On. Iris Thorne has grown up in a “double shadow”. She’s grown up in the shadow of her father, who has grown up in the shadow of her famous grandmother, author of Elementia, the female-power response to The Lord of [...]

    4. I absolutely adored this new book by Cory McCarthy. I enjoyed reading Breaking Sky by McCathy and You Were Here is one of my favorite books, so having the chance to read this new novel early was something I'm very happy about. I loved a lot of things about this book, but most of all how timely it is. The world has been shifting and the role of women has been changing, so to read a story where the female protagonist, Iris, finds herself on the set of a major motion picture based on a novel writte [...]

    5. Everybody has their go to slump-killing genre. Mine just so happens to be nerdy contemporary romance. I'll admit, this book wasn't even on my radar at first. I was looking through Netgalley, a little bored of all of the fantasy books I read, and I saw this and I was happy because it seemed like it was just what I needed (it was.)It was not hard to get myself into this book - and never want to leave. The character growth, the humor, the love of fictional worlds, everything worked together in such [...]

    6. i didn't have high expectations for this based on the cover and the back and the first chapter, but I was pleasantly surprised.

    7. First off, the blurb is deceptive. When I first came across Now A Major Motion Picture on NetGalley, I thought it would be a "dessert book"- sugary sweet, slightly fluffy, and without much depth. Don't get me wrong, I love a good dessert book. They're worth all of the smiles, laughs, and romantic-moment-induced sighs in the world. Luckily for me, NAMMP is so much more than a dessert book. It still brings smiles, laughs, and RMI sighs, but it's a book that brings in the real depth that is sometim [...]

    8. I received an advanced reader copy of Now a Major Motion Picture by Cori McCarthy and was intrigued by the description, although after reading it I feel like the summary kind of buries the lead and doesn't really prepare the reader for what to expect. Iris is forced to take her younger brother to Ireland for the filming of Elementia's first movie after his therapist thinks it's a good idea and her father doesn't want to take him. More than just finding it "a little annoying," Iris is angry and o [...]

    9. Now a Major Motion Picture book review The story Now a Major Motion Picture by Cori McCarthy is an intriguing story about a teenager named Iris Thorne, whose grandmother’s legacy could affect her family’s name forever. Iris has the chance to possibly alter the fate of her family’s name but throughout the book is conflicted on whether she should or not.This book is amazing! I couldn't put it down. Its funny, serious, a little bit of fantasy and romance all in one! The titles of the chapters [...]

    10. Thank you to Edelweiss and Sourcebooks Fire for the E-ARC copy of this novel.Iris finds herself in Ireland on the film set of her Grandmother’s very popular trilogy of books set to motion picture. Iris has great qualities that make this novel very enjoyable and realistic. The relationship with the Grandmother and the books she has written make a very real and sympathetic plot line. It is a great tale of first love and romance for Iris. I loved the setting of Ireland for a fish out of water sto [...]

    11. This book has a really slow start and many unbelievable elements. HOWEVER, as the story unfolds, it grabs the reader and won't let go. Lots of information about the film industry is interspersed with a story about a dysfunctional family. Once into it, it becomes difficult to stop reading. The reader is rooting for Cate, the director, to make it work, and for Iris to find her way to make peace in her family. The feminism gets overwhelming at times, but the story wins out. A lot of kissing and wan [...]

    12. I really adored this book (which is pretty rare, as I've read about 700 of the same by now!). Now, is it a deep, complex, intense read? Probably not. But the characters are wonderful, human and layered, and we want the best for them. The story has enough of fan culture in it to keep you entertained while still allowing a feminist message and sublte reflexion on the importance of ancestors and lineage to unfold alongside the fluff. A thoroughly enjoyable read!

    13. I really liked this book, I picked it up on a whim and ending up not wanting to finish it! Iris was a character that I felt I could relate to and I ended up falling in love with her little brother!Thanks to Sourcebooks for the ARC!

    14. What an enjoyable book but a truly terrible cover that doesn't begin to convey its depth. Read it in about six hours, didn't want to put it down.

    15. Cori McCarthy, I love you! Just about 2 years ago I was writing about how I wanted to read everything you've written (Post You Were Here being added to my favorites list with a 5 star rating), and you're pretty much making me squee and cry all over again. I am so very very glad that I was able to receive an ARC of this from the publisher via Edelweiss.Fans of Fangirl (Rainbow Rowell) and even Morgan Matson - read this! You'll get characters with actual feelings and problems, a super cute romance [...]

    16. For more of my reviews visit my blog As the Book Ends or follow me on Instagram!Alright, Geekerella fans, please stand up! Its no secret that I am a HUGE fan of Ashley Poston's debut novel. I have so much love for contemporary books that feature major fandoms. So, when I saw this in the Sourcebooks Fire catalog for this year, I HAD to request this one. Now a Major Motion Picture has many of the same elements - romance with an actor, family nerd legacy, lots of nerdomsI started it immediately u [...]

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *