Human: The Definitive Visual Guide

Human The Definitive Visual Guide In the tradition of Animal and Earth DK brings you a new definitive visual guide that takes a unique look at what it means to be a human being This is the first book to cover all aspects of human lif

  • Title: Human: The Definitive Visual Guide
  • Author: Robert Winston
  • ISBN: 9780756619015
  • Page: 179
  • Format: Paperback
  • In the tradition of Animal and Earth, DK brings you a new definitive visual guide that takes a unique look at what it means to be a human being This is the first book to cover all aspects of human life, from evolution and biology to society, culture, and the future of our aspects of human life, from evolution and biology to society, culture, and, the future of our speciesIn the tradition of Animal and Earth, DK brings you a new definitive visual guide that takes a unique look at what it means to be a human being This is the first book to cover all aspects of human life, from evolution and biology to society, culture, and the future of our aspects of human life, from evolution and biology to society, culture, and, the future of our species The book examines the qualities that all humans share and profiles than 250 peoples who inhabit the world.

    One thought on “Human: The Definitive Visual Guide”

    1. Ok a confession - I have read this a number of times but never really finished it - however I had to "dig" it out to get the previous book!This book is impressive however it comes from a line of equally impressive books from DK. The editor in chief Robert Winston (and not the author as stated here) is no mystery to the subject - apart from his numerous medical achievements he is also an accomplished presenter on science matters. This book to me represents all that is in danger of being lost to t [...]

    2. This book is Awesome! Every person should own this book. It has everything related to humanity, from how our bodies work to the various cultures around the world. I wish I owned this book growing up.

    3. Human is a comprehensive view of, well, humans. From the origin of and physical, mental and social aspects of humans to the individual peoples, it's a compendium of what we know to date. Being a Dorling-Kindersley publication it's packed full of pictures and sidebars, which is part of why it took me so long to get through. The language is easy to understand for a non-scientist but doesn't talk down. I also thought they did a good job of presenting all theories as opposed to promoting just certai [...]

    4. A profusely illustrated examination of what it means to be human, how we came to be how we are, and where we might be going. These questions are examined from the perspectives of anthropology, evolutionary biology, animal behaviorism, anatomy, psychology, animal behaviorism and more. I found it inclusive, unbiased, and thought-provoking, although sometimes it tended to over-explain (stating four times in two pages that we are not descended from any living animal).

    5. This book is of the coffee table variety, but on steroids. It begins with the anthropological beginnings of our species, travels through the inner workings of the body, then outward toward society and culture. It's non-fiction, but has such a broad range of topics anyone can find interest in it.

    6. A great reference book on all to do with the Human Being and Humanity as a whole.Join Robert Winston on a unique journey to discover every aspect of our existence. From how we function to how we think and act, HUMAN reveals the diversity of our lives and explores our extraordinary past,our fascinating present and our astonishing future

    7. More information on the human body, cultures, and the mind than one could absorb in the amount of time the library allows one to borrow it. Awesome pictures though.

    8. You do not read page by page but just randomly. Every part of it inspires you and pushes you to think of yourself again and again. A great adventure.

    9. It's the same format as the Animal edition, and is a great overview of all things human, from origins to anatomy to culture. Another great coffee table book.

    10. An exhaustive and fascinating reference book on everything human. Professor Robert Winston has done it again!

    11. This is a seriously cool book. Great layout and pictures and the information is set out so it is easy to understand.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *