Fools Rule: Inside the Failed Politics of Climate Change

Fools Rule Inside the Failed Politics of Climate Change This eloquent rage inciting polemic about the global failure to deal with climate change will appeal to readers of Tim Flannery George Monbiot and Bill McKibben and anyone concerned with the economi

  • Title: Fools Rule: Inside the Failed Politics of Climate Change
  • Author: William Marsden
  • ISBN: 9780307398246
  • Page: 487
  • Format: Hardcover
  • This eloquent, rage inciting polemic about the global failure to deal with climate change will appeal to readers of Tim Flannery, George Monbiot and Bill McKibben and anyone concerned with the economic and environmental future of our planet.Kyoto, 1997 Montreal, 2005 Copenhagen, 2009 Cancun, 2010 In Fools Rule, Marsden illustrates how inefficient and short sighted poThis eloquent, rage inciting polemic about the global failure to deal with climate change will appeal to readers of Tim Flannery, George Monbiot and Bill McKibben and anyone concerned with the economic and environmental future of our planet.Kyoto, 1997 Montreal, 2005 Copenhagen, 2009 Cancun, 2010 In Fools Rule, Marsden illustrates how inefficient and short sighted political negotiations have become despite mounting scientific evidence that immediate action is essential to curb the effects of climate change International climate change summits are now widely monitored events, attended by state leaders and crowded with journalists yet somehow they have never been less productive Treaties and action plans are smothered by economic self interest, diplomatic errors and every nation s hungry scramble for its share of the remaining atmospheric space Marsden takes us from inside the bungled negotiations at Copenhagen to the melting glaciers and untapped oil reserves of the Arctic he shows us the paralyzing effect oil and gas companies have on green legal initiatives in the United States, and therefore on any international climate change treaty and, with wit and penetrating insight, he asks the toughest question will we be able to change before it s too late

    One thought on “Fools Rule: Inside the Failed Politics of Climate Change”

    1. The bad part: unproductive international summits. Disappearing nation-states. Oil mongers continued natural resource exploitation in the name of greed. No pun intended, this is just the tip of the iceberg. The worst part: its not an Orwellian dystopia. It is real and for some, too late. William Marsden in Fools Rule: Inside the Failed Politics of Climate Change tells two stories. Backed by empirical evidence and glaciology, the first, (correctly) posits the changing environmental shape of the g [...]

    2. Believe it or not, it is not the usual exposé of global warming deniers. It is far more sobering: a detailed account of the various UN Framework conventions and how each of them was doomed to failure. These gloomy chapters are interspersed with brighter forays out onto glaciers in Canada's high arctic (though with predictably gloomy conclusions). After reading the thing, I was left more than ever convinced that James Lovelock is right about global warming: we are just too stupid to do anything [...]

    3. Important reading if a tad uneven. The segments about the UN climate change meetings are a bit tedious, but when he gets out in the field, his reporting is sparkling. We, as a species, are literally committing suicide, and Canada is a prime contributer, as it has its own tick-like infestation of "conservatives."

    4. It is interesting to compare Marsden's account of what happened at Coppenhagen with Hilary Clinton's. We truly are ruled by fools as is evident by the lack of progress in Peru. I think his other book Stupid to the Last Drop: How Alberta Is Bringing Environmental Armageddon to Canada (and Doesn't Seem to Care) a better written book.

    5. This book talks about a different aspect of climate change. We have had world summit meetings about climate change and the only things the countries can agree on is they each have their agendas and they cannot agree on anything except they disagree and cannot figure out what to do.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *